It’s Okay… Let Go…

“…until heaven and earth pass away,
not the smallest letter or the smallest part
of a letter will pass until
all things have taken place.”

Matthew 5:18

A recent gathering with my sisters included the usual reminiscing. This time, we traveled back to that childhood summer when we stayed at a rented lake cottage. On this particular day, my younger sisters and I romped in the water with our dad. We climbed all over him as he attempted to swim. Suddenly, he sank into the water and called, “Rita, get the kids off of me.” This out-of-character request prompted us back to the sandy beach where my older sister watched over us as my mom tended to our dad. Subsequent tests and doctor’s visits revealed a heart condition which would allow my dad only one more year of life. My mom’s vigilant care and my dad’s vigilant obedience to his doctors earned him that precious year.

The following summer, my dad lay in the hospital. He told my mom about the “scare” he had experienced. “I shook hands with St. Peter last night,” he remarked. Mom knew as the doctor had already spoken to her. It was then that she offered my dad the medicine he needed most. “God has taken good care of us and the kids, too. Do you think he’s going to stop because you’re not here? It’s okay to let go, Honey. We’ll make it…” My dad passed away that night.

I failed to appreciate the depth of my mom’s sacrifice until I had a family of my own. Could I ever do what this mother of six children had done? I’ll never know because life has unfolded differently for me. As for my mom, her faith never wavered. She acknowledged often that God had not left her or her children alone.

Loving God, help me to trust in your plans for me.
They are so much better than my own.

©2016 Mary Penich – All Rights Reserved

Leave a Reply

