Enjoy Life!

“You always have the poor with you,
but you do not always have me.”

John 12:8

It’s August 4 and the good news is that I’ve been on a roll writing. The bad news is that I haven’t been on a roll with anything else. Wasn’t it just Tuesday when I committed to an actual writing schedule which allows time for writing and enjoying life? I pondered this thought as I ran downstairs for a glass of water. While I stood at the sink, a flurry of activity drew my eyes to the bird-feeder in our backyard. My husband’s persistent feedings and his new bird house have attracted countless finches. I considered taking a break to watch these tiny wonders for a while, but I had writing to do…

As I headed back upstairs, movement on the patio caught my eye. A lovely white dove sat in the large flowerpot outside our patio door. Though such visitors usually fly off when I draw near, she remained. Oddly enough, she seemed oblivious to those flitting finches and content to stare at me. A ray of sunlight caused her feathers to take on a heavenly aura. As I wondered what she was up to, it occurred to me that she might wonder the same about me. When our eyes met, I realized that I hadn’t relaxed at all this day and I was about to miss an opportunity when I passed on finch-watching. Did that lovely dove intend to remind me to slow down? Did she know that my writing could wait because those wildly happy finches deserved a few minutes of my attention?

Loving God, once again, I thank you for the work ethic with which I’m blessed and for your well-timed reminders to set aside my work and to enjoy life.

©2017 Mary Penich – All Rights Reserved

Leave a Reply

