Timely Inspiration

To every thing there is a season,
and a time to for every purpose under heaven.

Ecclesiastes 3:1

I’ve discovered that I write best when I’m not surrounded by clutter. My recent file cabinet purchase allowed me to clean off my desk and to empty a few drawers. In the process, I eyed the bookcases nearby. “There’s no time like the present,” I told myself. “I can tackle a shelf or two and still have time to write today.” I looked lovingly upon novels, books on death, dying and the afterlife, inspirational books, children’s books and an old catechism.

Each inspirational book touched me as it had on the day I received it. They inspired my creation of a “To Keep” pile. The novels had renewed my empathy for my fellow humans. I kept the most memorable and began a “Give Away” pile with the rest. My books on death, dying and the hereafter sustain my hope. I kept every one. Children’s books feed my imagination and strengthen my bond with our grandchildren. I decided to keep few at home and to give the rest to them.

I’d spent an hour with these treasures when I picked up that old catechism. I would have added it to the “Give Away” pile if a bookmark sticking out of it hadn’t piqued my interest. It marked the chapter entitled GRACE. I learned long ago that grace is God’s very life within us. I looked at the array of books before me and prayed, “Lord, your grace has flowed through every one of them.”

Though I had no intention of tackling those boxes at that particular moment, I prayed further, “Your timing is impeccable.” My desk-cleaning had refreshed my approach to writing and my book-sorting had refreshed my soul.

Dear God, your loving presence inspires me again and again.

©2017 Mary Penich – All Rights Reserved

Leave a Reply

