Once Again, I Thank You, Dear God…

From the depths of my despair, I wept before you.
You heard my voice, dried my tears and responded.

Inspired by Psalm 130:1-2 and God’s Merciful Response to Me

Our little grandson recently celebrated his second birthday. What a celebration that was! It was with deep gratitude that I rejoiced with Daniel because…

Daniel’s mom had experienced productive contractions from Week 26 of this pregnancy. Week 32 marked a major milestone. Another two weeks would bring him close to typical newborn size and development. A day into that week, the telephone rang at 1:00 AM. I heard my husband repeat, “So your water broke?” Tears flowed as they spoke further. My prayers began.

That morning, we learned Baby could remain in utero for two weeks while his mom remained in the hospital. After praying the morning away, I called my son. I heard the concern in his voice as he reported that his wife was experiencing a lot of pain. Because my daughter-in-law is healthy, athletic and incapable of complaining, I took this news to heart. It was then that my prayer changed…

I wept until I found the courage to look heavenward. I wept bitterly as I spoke… “Dear God, I can feed the hungry and be there for the lonely. I can listen to those who need me and I can mourn with those in pain. But this, there is nothing I can do about this. I can’t stop the contractions. I can’t keep that baby in place until the time is right. Only you can fix this. So I beg you for a miracle. I beg you not to allow this baby to be born until he is ready enough. Please give them a miracle because I can’t. This is all up to you.” And on I wept.

Four hours later, our son called: “He’s here! Daniel is here!” All tests indicated that Daniel was behaving like a mini-full-term newborn. His color, weight and reflexes amazed all concerned. Though he remained in the hospital for three weeks, Daniel proved that he was indeed “ready enough”!

Loving God, I humbly thank you for allowing me to pray as I did and for responding with that miracle.

©2017 Mary Penich – All Rights Reserved

Leave a Reply

