O is for…

I give you thanks that I am wonderfully made…
wonderful are your works!

Psalm 139:14

O is for Original. I had a hard time settling on today’s word. I was torn between “original” and “opus” because both words describe an extremely important aspect of our existence.

Each and every one of us is an original. My mom and dad had six children, yet each of us is unique -no carbon copies here! Still, I can’t ignore the word “opus” because each of our lives is a unique opus. Each one of us is an important part of our human family. Our job in all of this is to contribute our own unique and important work to the mix.

During the past two months, I became more aware than ever of the opus that my sister was in this world. She made an impact upon others in a way that no one else could. Both professionally and within our family, she was creative and productive in unique ways. She was there when we needed her.

It occurs to me that the grandeur or smallness of our actions means little. It is our presence and our delivery which changes everything. Each person’s opus impacts others and this world in a unique way. It’s up to each of us to make our contribution to this world by to seizing the opportunities before us and making the most of them.

Hmmm… Opportunities… O is for Opportunities… the opportunities my sister embraced and the opportunities which we all embrace to complete our own Original Opus. How about that!

Loving God, be with us as we bring our unique talents to fruition and be ready to welcome us home when our work here is finished.

©2024 Mary Penich – All Rights Reserved

One thought on “O is for…”

Leave a comment