T is for…

Give thanks to God, for God is good,
and God’s mercy and love endure forever.

Psalm 136:1

T is for Thanksgiving. I’m a little embarrassed to admit that I often make it crystal clear when life isn’t unfolding perfectly for me. I’ve made no secret of my sadness over my sister’s final illness and my loss of her. At the same time, I need to make something else crystal clear. I do have lots of reasons to express my gratitude. I’ll begin with my sister’s final adventure…

My sister’s illness was a surprise to us all, Though she likely hadn’t felt perfectly well for a bit, she was up and around and adhering to her day-to-day schedule as always. No one was more surprised than she to learn just how sick she was. Though this was bad news, good news came with it. Those who love her were able to be nearby every step of the way. Weary as I was driving an hour to get there, I was extremely grateful to have been able to do so.

During those visits, we talked and we were quiet. We smiled and we shared a few tears over our shared history. Cousins and vintage friends stopped in as well. When my sister learned of that terminal diagnosis, she dealt with it on her own terms. She always dug in to address the issues before her. Taking her leave from this life was no exception.

T is for Thanksgiving. Our ability to be grateful is key to our happiness and our joy -even amidst suffering and loss. As for me, I’m going to temper my mourning with a heart full of thanksgiving. Trust me. This effort is already making all of the difference in the world to me. I encourage you to allow being thankful to do the same for you.

Generous God, thank you for everything!

©2024 Mary Penich – All Rights Reserved

One thought on “T is for…”

Leave a comment