FINDING JOY… DAY 6

My God, you know me.
You know when I sit and when I stand.
You understand my thoughts from afar.

Psalm 139:1-3

I think that being understood -truly understood- by another is an amazing gift. Honestly, when someone actually grasps what I’m trying to say, I find it lifegiving. When I assess the joy which has touched my life over the years, it has come most often at the hands of a perceptive soul.

Having written all of that, I don’t think any of us can expect a fellow human to see into the depths of our hearts completely. When this does occur or when someone gets close, it’s miraculous! Still, I do think that it’s extremely important for us to try as best we can to understand one another. Sometimes, something as simple as a knowing look, a well-timed smile or an offer simply to listen has the power to bring joy another person’s day. It’s worth a try!

When I’m feeling misunderstood or not understood at all, I look upward to the One who knows precisely how I feel. When I don’t quite know what to say or how to respond in a given situation, I look upward again, this time for the inspiration I need. In both cases, I’m never disappointed. In both cases I find the joy I need to savor and the joy I need to share with others.

Loving God, thank you for your understanding in everything. Help us to offer the same to our sisters and brothers as best we can.

©2024 Mary Penich – All Rights Reserved

One thought on “FINDING JOY… DAY 6”

Leave a comment