FATHER, SON AND SPIRIT OF LOVE

It was Saturday.  I couldn’t believe I’d slept in!  When my husband peeked into our room to see if I was awake, he was already dressed for the day.  “How did I sleep so late?” I asked.  Mike mentioned something about my being “out cold” before leaving to run errands.  When I climbed out of bed, I assumed that my body was telling me I needed the rest.  I hadn’t yet returned to full-speed since my sister’s passing.

Mike would be gone for a few hours, so I had the house to myself.  I began a mental to-do list:  start the laundry, check email, begin this reflection…  After smiling over my plan for a productive day, I headed to the kitchen for breakfast.  I’d watch the morning’s news while I ate.  Sadly, that news wasn’t good.  I’d had enough of this world’s woes.  I turned off the television and looked out the window.  I smiled at what I saw…

A statue of St. Francis of Assisi stands among a trio of flowerpots on our patio.  My sister found that statue years ago.  She couldn’t resist purchasing it because she knew Mike and I would appreciate it.  We’ve always liked this multi-faceted portrayal of Francis.  The statue sports a wise “in charge” look.  Francis actually was quite brave.  He was also knowledgeable and outspoken when it came to caring for people.  He reminded public officials, the Church hierarchy, and all who would listen of our responsibility to care for one another.  Our St. Francis holds a bowl of water for the squirrel and birds who rest on his shoulders and arms.  A deer and rabbit nuzzle against his legs.  Those feathered and furry creatures seem quite comfortable and content in Francis’ company.  

When I returned to my breakfast, it occurred to me that my friend Francis had hinted at what I hoped to share with you today.  With that, I immersed myself in thought.  Francis had evolved from a rich spoiled child, to a careless self-serving teen and then on to a want-to-be soldier.  Francis wasn’t revered when he left home to become a knight in order to fight the Roman Empire in the pope’s army.  Along the way, Francis stopped for a night’s sleep and had a dream.  In that dream, God asked whom Francis wanted to serve: an earthly commander or God in heaven.  That encounter changed Francis forever.  He gave up his plans for knighthood and returned home to love as God loves.  Francis walked away from the riches which had distracted him from what truly matters.  Francis began by begging for money to rebuild an old church.  In the process, he realized that he was actually meant to renew the hearts of those who filled that church.  Finally, Francis’s “in-charge” wisdom and his own loving heart took hold.           

Before I sat to write for you, I looked at that statue again.  My sister, Mike and I realized Francis was no pushover.  He cared for those he was given to love with kindness and ongoing efforts to improve their lives.  This Trinity Sunday, I assure you that God does the same on an infinitely grander scale for us.        

As a child, I imagined God our Father to be like my dad.  Though my dad passed before he became a grandpa, I saw the caring, strength and love required of one in him.  Though God our Father sometimes seems not to answer our prayers as we hope, God always responds with what is best for us.  This is what good parents do!  Jesus is another matter.  Jesus experienced everything we experience, and he teaches us the ins and outs of getting by in this world and making our way to the next.  Like our experienced older siblings, Jesus leads the way for us.  When we do as Jesus suggests, we find ourselves closer than ever to him and to one another.

Sometimes, we need to move beyond what we see in this world.  This is the reason God’s Spirit came after Jesus to make everything clear.  The Holy Spirit, the Spirit of God’s love, transformed the disciples’ fear into zeal.  Filled with the Spirit, the disciples came out of hiding to spread the good news. Finally, they knew that God would remain with them always.  They couldn’t help spreading the word about their good fortune!  This miracle was repeated in our friend Francis of Assisi, just as it is repeated in all our human family and in you and me again and again.

The artist who fashioned our St. Francis statue likely doesn’t know the inspiration his work is to me.  God, on the other hand, knows well the possibilities that lie in each one of us.  Father, Son and Spirit wait eagerly to see what we’ll do next!          

©2024 Mary Penich – All Rights Reserved

One thought on “FATHER, SON AND SPIRIT OF LOVE”

Leave a comment